Doing Christmas Backwards

I love this time of year. The low winter sun adds a sparkle to everything and everyone is in a happy mood as we get closer to Christmas. It’s party season. We get to see and have fun with more friends and relatives than at any other time of year.

I also hate this time of year. The ice on the roads and the constant threat of being stranded by a heavy snowfall spoils any prospect of getting out on the bike. Everyone is getting stressed over present-buying and complicated travel arrangements. There’s no time to get anything done as we drag from one obligatory party to the next, and heaven forbid that we should leave anybody out in case they take offence.

The great feast isn’t doing well for me this year. I was doing alright beforehand – eating a bit more healthily and even losing a little weight. I was making really good progress with the novel too. Now I’ve eaten too much chocolate and the weight is going back on, and I’ve discovered a big chunk of missing plot that’s meant about 8000 words have had to be scrapped and re-written. The draft of the novel is getting smaller as I’m getting bigger and I seem to be going backwards.

I’ve decided not to fight it. The blog has slipped from weekly to fortnightly. The writing is a bit sporadic. The chocolate is lovely. Honestly, it’s the best advent calendar I’ve ever had! I’m embracing going backwards. I’m taking a rest from all the pressure I put on myself and taking a holiday from my hobbies. This is not the season to be grumpy because I haven’t been able to do all the things I’d planned.

I shall put my feet up and be swept backwards joyfully, with food and wine and great friends. I can lose the weight in the new year, when the weather gets better and I start getting fit again. I’ll write better in the new year when I’ve taken a little break from it.

And let’s not forget, there are times when a writer needs to stop writing and to enjoy having written. This is that time. I’ve lost count of the number of friends and relatives I’ve talked to about my published novel. It makes me happy every time. It doesn’t get old. And we get to see so many more friends and relatives around Christmas. I love this time of year.

Have a wonderful Christmas everyone!

Leave a Reply

